4-ingredient-potato-salad

4 Ingredient Potato Salad (Dairy-Free)

This 4 Ingredient, Dairy-Free Potato Salad perfect for school lunches AND makes a quick, healthy dinner option. In my case, I made this ahead of time for my boyfriend’s lunch the next day!

4-ingredient-potato-salad

Quick and easy tip: if you’re making this for lunches, mix everything together in the container you’re serving it in, no need to wash extra bowls!

Serves: 2
Time: 10 minutes total time

What you will need:

  • 3 medium-large Potatoes
  • 3 Eggs.
  • 1/2 Red Pepper (Capsicum).
  • Salt and Pepper.
  • 1 ½ tablespoon Basil Pesto – any brand.

What to do:

1. Prepare your vegetables! Find a sharp knife and a chopping board. I always cut my potato into small pieces for potato salad [See tutorial on my YouTube channel – coming soon]. Chop your Red Pepper in small chunks or bite sized pieces.

2. Take a medium pot, and fill it 1/3 with hot water. The trick to this being so fast to make, is using already hot water to boil your potatoes and eggs, so you do not need to wait for the water to heat in your pot. Add the cut potatoes and your eggs.

3. Let boil for 10 minutes. Stir two or three times whilst cooking. To check if your potatoes are finished, take one piece out and press into it with the blunt side of a knife – if your potato cuts, its ready, if it feels hard, boil for another minute and test again.

4. Take out your eggs and let them sit in a bowl of cold water. This is so you can actually hold them to peel them in 5 minutes, without searing off your fingers trying to peel your freshly boiled eggs. It’s not fun. Drain your potatoes so that no water remains.

5. Because I made this as a lunch box meal, I put everything straight into a container. So take either the lunch boxes or a 2 bowls (because we are cooking for two) and put your Potatoes in. Follow this with your Red Pepper pieces and the Pesto. Cut your eggs in quarters and add them on top!

Serve by itself, warm or cold! 

4-ingredient-potato-salad

This is the pesto I use, when I haven’t got any home made in the fridge. Stay tuned for a video on my YouTube channel all about making your own pesto – it’s so easy!



Emmie’s Top Tips: If you don’t feel like Pesto, try white vinegar and dill in the salad. It’s something I learned from my German Step-Mother-in-Law… That’s a complicated title if ever I saw one. Anyway, that’s how she makes a mean, proper German Potato Salad. Let me know in the comments if you would like the full recipe on her salad + MORE traditional German recipes from my time living abroad, in Berlin.

Leave a Reply

